Eating

Summer Smoothies

It’s hot in central Illinois, and we’ve been all about the smoothies lately. We have them for snack after nap (yes, my almost-three-year-old still naps, hooray!) and we have them for dessert after dinner. These two, made with plain Greek yogurt, are a couple of my favorites.

I should also share that we gifted ourselves a refurbished Vitamix blender for Christmas. This is what allows us to crush ice and blend frozen bananas into soft-serve ice cream consistency. I highly recommend one if you’re considering it.

Funky Monkey

3 frozen bananas (peel first, then freeze in large chunks)
1/3 cup peanut butter
¾ cup (6 oz) plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
½ cup 2% milk
1-2 splashes vanilla

Add all ingredients to blender and blend on high.

Mango Tango

3 bananas
Half a bag of frozen mango, about 6 oz
2-3 heaping tablespoons of plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
½ cup 2% milk

Add all ingredients to blender and blend on high.

Both of these are smooth, refreshing, and filling. The Funky Monkey tastes very much like peanut butter ice cream. I don’t have WW points because I’m off for the summer, but each makes about four, six- to eight-ounce servings. This is plenty, I promise!

Standard