Shopping

My Summer Style

I normally dread Spring because it means I have to give up my jeans, boots, and long-sleeved, ass-covering sweaters. It means I have to start shaving my legs on a regular basis, that my arms will be on public display once again, and that (gasp!) it’ll be shorts weather soon. But as the balmy months of March and April give way to sweltering May, I slowly let go of my inhibitions and once June comes around, I’m ready for summer.

This year, my summer wardrobe is all about breezy peasant tops, comfortable jeans, and practical pool stuff. We bought a pass this year and I’m trying to get there as much as I can without worrying about how much I resemble a sausage stuffed into a floral-print Lycra leotard. Here are my three favorite summer looks:

Park

Park

Merona peasant top | Old Navy shorts | Rustic Cuff bracelet | Reef flip-flops

I have worn this peasant top so much this summer. It’s comfortable with just enough style to make me feel like I’m not just throwing on a maternity top (which I promise, it’s not). I love it with shorts that are a step up from cut-offs, with a cute allover embroidered pattern.

Pool

Pool

Target cover-up | Thirty-One Straw Tote |  Old Navy bikini bottoms | Land’s End Tankini top

I have to say a little bit about the bag—it’s absolutely perfect for the pool. It has a thoughtful key fob so your keys are easy to find when it’s time to leave, pockets for your ID and pool passes, and even a zippered pouch for your phone. It ties at the top to keep your towels from spilling out, and the texture of the bag is a softer take on a basket weave. I love it and absolutely recommend it for the pool or beach.

Date

date

Mossimo peasant top | Express jeans | OPI nail polish in Dating a Royal | Steve Madden Sandals

This peasant top makes me feel skinny no matter what I look like underneath. I’ve gotten so many compliments on it—somehow it’s slimming without being too boxy. It’s not sheer, so I can get away without a cami underneath, which makes it even better on steamy summer nights. The nail polish is a rich cobalt blue that seems to pop on tan summer toes.

What are your favorite pieces this summer?

Standard