Parenting

Monday Musings

20150322_092735

I GOT NOTHING
I have nothing real to write about today. I have a lot of shoulds and “to post” ideas for this blog, but none of them have come to fruition yet. And also, I can’t figure out how to get my phone to download its pictures to my computer. I’m sure there’s a not difficult solution but frankly it’s too much for me to handle on this dreary Monday morning. Why are Monday mornings so hard? I DON’T EVEN HAVE A JOB TO GET UP AND GO TO. I don’t get it. I’m living the life, right? Staying home with the kids, in my pajamas til noon…and yet. And yet.

IRL = SURREAL
This weekend I met my long-time Internet friend, Eunice, in person. Pretty freaking unbelievable. She lives in Colorado and made the trip to the Great Middle West because she is amazing, gorgeous, and infinitely patient. It was incredible to be sitting at the dinner table with her, swapping stories about our kids and our daily lives. She reminded me that I do have friends, and good ones, even if their houses are a plane ride away.

SCHOOL’S OUT
I finished my summer school courses on Friday and boy does it feel good to be done. If I never see another pearly gray eardrum I’ll be happy. I took an assessment course, and while I learned a lot, I want to TEACH, not assess and diagnose. If I’m truly being honest, the class was a challenge for me.

My 7-year-old is going through the same thing right now. He had soccer camp last week, and was so frustrated that he didn’t instinctively know how to play the new games that were introduced, or how to do an L-kick. I have to admit, when it comes to sports, I always hoped I would discover I had a secret talent—that I’d be able to hit the bull’s-eye on the first try or kick the ball with such force there was no chance of the goalie saving it. But I never did. The only sport I ever excelled at was swimming, and my swimming career ended, predictably, in high school.

Anyway, I told CJ he was brave and strong and that basically if he didn’t know something, he had to suck it up and ask. Which is what I struggled with this semester. Communication in online classes can sometimes be tricky. Also, do you know how many things can actually go wrong with the human body? That 40% of adult office visits are for dizziness of an unknown cause? Or how many types of Juvenile Arthritis there are? I think it’s something like 12. Ridiculous. Bottom line, I learned a lot—most memorably that the clinical life isn’t for me.

IS IT FALL YET?
My birthday is this week, and with my birthday comes the End of Summer. I’ve always felt the End of Summer starts on Fourth of July, but for me, it drives its point home on July 31st. To wake up the next morning and not only have to wait another 364 days until my next birthday, but also have it be August, the month school starts, was the complete pits when I was a kid. Now though, I’m more than ready to get back into the school year routine. Not to mention pumpkin spice coffee, cooler weather, and brown leaves on the sidewalk, crunching under my feet.

What’s been going on with you this week?

Standard