My Fall Style

I am about the last person you would call stylish. As you may have read in my Twitter, I prefer workout clothes and pajamas to the restrictions of pants with buttons and zippers. I tend to not wear makeup unless I know I’m going to have my picture taken or see someone I need to impress. I wash my hair infrequently and shower almost as infrequently (as you may have read in my previous posts about depression). BUT, when pressed, I can throw an outfit together. A stylish one, even. One so stylish that I wanted to share it with you.

I recently started helping out at our church, and unfortunately discovered that it would be inappropriate for me to wear jeans while I’m there. Which pretty much killed my winter plan of wearing jeans every single time I choose to get dressed. Which led me to Old Navy last weekend, when they were having a 40% off sale. I went into the store with the impression that something like this would look good on me (check out the girl on the right with the hat on):

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 9.38.51 AM

I mean, she’s wearing a dress, yes? So church-appropriate. And the cardigan to keep her warm. And I thought I could add some tights to keep things a little more modest. But as it turns out, and I know this will come as a shock to you, I’m no model. I looked so frumpy in this outfit not even my husband would give me criticism. He took one look at it and shook his head. So while I still maintain that that dress is super-cute, it’s not for me.

Instead, I bought a pair of pixie pants. Now, I am so out of the fashion loop that I have no idea what pixie pants are, but goodness they were flattering. I paired them with a Daniel Rainn top I got at TJ Maxx, a new pair of booties and a new purse from Target, and an old silver bracelet I’ve had forever (I picked a similar one below). I got a couple of compliments on this outfit and one person even asked if I’d lost weight! So please go buy yourself some pixie pants. They are super-comfortable and easy to dress up or down. Highly recommend.

2 thoughts on “My Fall Style

  1. Kate says:

    Freakin’ love this outfit! You already know how I feel about Daniel Rainn 🙂 And that purse is GORGEOUS! Kathrine actually has a very similar one that I often ooh and ahh over. Well done my friend!! And as always, you are hysterical – thanks for cracking me up today!

Comments are closed.