Parenting

New Year’s Whatever

I did make resolutions this year, something I didn’t think I was going to do. And of course I’m a little behind the curve, not thinking about my resolutions solidly until after the 1st. But here they are, in all their simplicity:

1. Be mindful about paying down debt
Of course we have debt—I’m a stay at home mom who works part time and I’m in grad school. Last year we established a budget that we were able to stick to fairly faithfully until Christmastime. I love giving gifts and I went a little overboard this year, as you do. Now that we have a chance for a fresh start, I’m planning Christmas giving into our budget so we’re not so overwhelmed come December. I’m also planning for us to…

2. Take a family vacation
We tend to get so caught up in our day-to-day spending that we don’t think about bigger things, like weeklong vacations in a tropical climate. In 2015 we were able to take several short trips to see friends and family, which were absolutely wonderful, but we weren’t able to take a long trip, just us, and truly relax. One of the reasons I think I will be better about paying down our debt in 2016 is because we can view this vacation as a kind of reward for the end of the year. Again, we can work it into the budget, and while paying for a vacation means we may not pay off as much debt as we could, we will be giving ourselves a much-needed break, both from closely watching our finances and the stresses of our every day lives.

3. Read 50 books
My Goodreads goal last year was to read 25 books, and my end-of-the year total was 46. I read mostly fiction, and I re-read series I love every year during certain seasons. But I feel making this higher goal will finally encourage me to read the harder parenting, budgeting, decluttering, and happiness books that I still have sitting on my shelf. I will also try to update my Goodreads profile and reviews regularly so you can check out what I’m reading if you’re looking for something new. The theme for 2016? A book a week: no excuses.

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.56.50 AM

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? I’d love to hear them in the comments if so!

Standard

One thought on “New Year’s Whatever

  1. Eunice says:

    I think I need to buy that entire stack of books. Or, you know, I can borrow them as you finish. 😉 I’ve read Daring Greatly, but those others look fabulous as well!

Comments are closed.