Eating

Protein Powder Recipes

Sometime during my current weight loss/healthy eating journey, I embraced protein powder. I appreciate how full I feel after a protein shake in the morning, and how a shake in the evening has replaced my once-nightly bowl of ice cream. I’ve been working on this post for a while, trying to find the perfect recipe for a copycat Starbucks Frappuccino protein shake. None of the ones I’ve found on Pinterest really tasted good to me, or if they did, they had weird ingredients that I don’t usually keep in the house (cottage cheese) or that would put me over my allotted breakfast points (butterscotch pudding). Below is the recipe I finally settled on, plus a few others that have been in regular rotation.

Shake

Pammie’s Copycat Frappuccino Protein Shake
4 SmartPoints

2 scoops (about 3-4 tbsp) vanilla or chocolate protein powder
½ packet Starbucks Via
½ cup coffee concentrate (I like Chameleon Cold Brew)
½ cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
½ frozen banana
2-4 tablespoons fat-free vanilla Greek yogurt, to taste
Splash nondairy creamer (such as Trader Joe’s coconut creamer)
4-5 ice cubes

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Makes one 20-oz shake, but if you add more ice you could easily split it in two. If you don’t have vanilla Greek yogurt, plain is fine; if you like it sweeter add a packet of Stevia or a tsp of vanilla extract before blending.

Brownie Batter Protein Shake from DailyBurn.com 
2 SmartPoints

1 frozen banana
¼ cup coffee concentrate
¾ cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 scoop chocolate protein powder
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
Splash vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
2-3 ice cubes

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Makes one 12-oz shake.

Cake Batter Protein Shake from Skinny Mom
4 SmartPoints per shake

1 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
1 cup fat-free frozen whipped topping
½ cup unsweetened almond milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons organic agave nectar
4 tablespoons vanilla protein powder
8-10 ice cubes
Rainbow sprinkles, for topping

Combine all ingredients through ice cubes in a blender and blend until smooth. Top with sprinkles. Makes four 5-oz shakes.

Pammie’s Protein Pancake Bites
1 SmartPoint per muffin

finished muffins2

This is another recipe I’ve been working on. I like the idea of just being able to pop these in my mouth on the go, and it’s quicker for me to make 24 muffins and bake once than it is to plop pancakes on the griddle. I added a little yogurt and applesauce for moisture; these are great without it when dipped in syrup or topped with whipped cream, but to truly enjoy them on the run they need not to be dry!

¾ cup + 2 tablespoons Bisquick Pancake and Baking Mix
4 tablespoons vanilla protein powder
2 tablespoons unsweetened almond milk
½ cup plain Greek yogurt, fat free
Scant ½ cup unsweetened applesauce
1 egg
2 tablespoons water
3 tablespoons mini chocolate chips

pancake collage

Preheat oven* to 350°. Spray a 24-cup mini muffin pan generously with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, whisk together Bisquick and protein powder. Add almond milk, yogurt, applesauce and egg. Mix until just combined. If you feel the mixture is too doughy, add in additional water, up to two tablespoons. Fold in chocolate chips.

Drop batter by rounded tablespoonfuls into prepared pan, filling muffin cups about three-quarters full. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until set. Yields about 24 mini muffins.

* I use a convection oven, which I highly recommend for baking. If you have one as well, preheat to 325° and watch the muffins closely at the end of their baking time—they may need a little bit longer.

SmartPoints were calculated using the Weight Watchers recipe builder on their site. SmartPoints may vary depending on which protein powder you choose. I wouldn’t recommend the Aloha—I bought it to try because it was on sale—it has wonderfully healthy ingredients but the taste just doesn’t measure up!

Standard