Eating

The only Puppy Chow recipe you’ll ever need

pchow2

Growing up I did swim team in the summers, and for every meet one of the mothers would make puppy chow. I remember eating it from fold-top plastic baggies in the hot afternoon sun, licking my fingers after the chocolate melted and then jumping in the pool to cool off. This snack is connected with some of my favorite summer memories, and while it’s not the healthiest, is something I’ve been making a lot for my kids this year.

For my recipe, the key is to use Crispix, a brown paper bag, and more chocolate than you think you need. I did use reduced-fat peanut butter, but other than that, none of my ingredient choices are even a smidgen healthy. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Pammie’s Puppy Chow
Yield: About 12 cups
5 SmartPoints per ¼-cup serving

1 12-oz box of Crispix cereal
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (one 12-oz package, or more if you like!)
¾ cup reduced-fat peanut butter (such as Jif)
1 stick butter
1 tsp vanilla
3 cups powdered sugar, divided
Paper grocery bag

Pour Crispix into a large bowl (I used two big Tupperware containers). In another bowl or glass measuring cup, melt chocolate chips, butter, and peanut butter in the microwave for 1 minute. Stir. If still lumpy after stirring, continue to microwave in 15 to 30-second intervals until melted. You want the consistency to be very thin so it will cover as much cereal as possible. Stir in vanilla. Pour chocolate mixture evenly over Crispix and stir gently to coat all the cereal with chocolate. (This will be nearly impossible, but do your best.) Set aside.

Pour 2 cups powdered sugar over the Crispix mixture. Shake to coat, then pour it all into a brown paper grocery bag. Roll bag to close and shake back and forth until the cereal is completely covered with sugar (I recommend shaking over the sink, as some sugar will inevitably leak out). After a few minutes, check your progress. If there’s still lots of visible chocolate, add that last cup of sugar and shake again.

The brown paper bag really creates the magic here, so don’t skip it! The bag absorbs some of the grease from the butter, and as the sugar combines with it, it gives the puppy chow an amazing texture. I promise you’ll love it!

At the end of this process, there will be excess powdered sugar, so if you don’t like messes in the kitchen (like me), pour the Puppy Chow into a colander to “drain” the extra sugar. Then pour into bowls and serve, or pour into a clean Tupperware container and store. The Puppy Chow should last about five days on the counter, providing it doesn’t all get eaten first!

SmartPoints calculated using Recipe Builder on the Weight Watchers website.

Standard