Weight loss: Where I’m at today

I’m never sure how much to share about Weight Watchers. It seems like people are in two camps: interested to hear about it since they’re also interested in weight loss, or annoyed to hear about it because they’re perfectly happy with their diet and lifestyle and don’t need anyone telling them how and what to change, thankyouverymuch. I used to be in the second camp. I was when I was younger; I would actually pride myself on how much I could eat while still maintaining my size 6 figure. Then I was again last year. I’d given up on dieting and decided I just wanted to be happy. And food makes me happy. So I ate what I wanted. And instead of being happier, I was sad. I was moody all the time, I was embarrassed to try on clothes, and my depression became worse. I’m not saying that your mental outlook is completely tied to food, but I want to confirm what I’m sure you’ve already heard your doctor tell you: diet and exercise WORK. They do. Those MDs know what they’re talking about. Listen to them. I wish I had.

I’m about four months into my current Weight Watchers journey and I’ve lost almost 20 pounds. I’ve lost 10% of my body weight, which according to a non-official website, means my risk for heart disease, diabetes, and a host of other terrifying illnesses is significantly lower. It also means that 10% of my former self is gone. GONE! I love thinking about it like that. May she never come back.

I was working out regularly, but then things got in the way, and now my exercise is walking everyday. I do make an effort on this—it’s not just to and from the car when I’m out running errands. And I hope to get back to the gym some day soon. I discovered, though, that what motivates me is seeing the number on the scale go down, not the number of steps I’m getting on my Jawbone go up. So I stopped wearing the Jawbone. And I stopped the intense exercise. I think my weight goes down more slowly when I’m working out hard. For now, when I’m trying to lose, walking is enough.

I still have another 15 pounds to go before I hit my goal and see what it’s like to weigh what I weighed before I had kids. But my outlook has already improved. I feel better, both physically and mentally. Shirts I wore last year are too big. I need new jeans for fall because my old ones don’t fit. My bones are poking out of my skin; I’m becoming more angular than round. And I love it. I can’t wait to see what this next season of weight loss brings.

me

Thanks for following along with me. If you have any questions about Weight Watchers, please feel free to leave them in the comments. I would love to encourage you on your journey!

2 thoughts on “Weight loss: Where I’m at today

  1. Eunice says:

    I am so proud of you for taking this journey! I love seeing the recipes that you’re making and the healthy life changes – which will last far longer than your Weight Watchers journey. Cheering you on for the last 15!

  2. Kate says:

    Hooray for you!! I am so proud of you putting forth this steady effort for many months to become the most healthy version of yourself. I can see what a difference it is making for you, not just physically (which is always fun!), but more importantly mentally and emotionally. You rock!! Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.