Eating

A Few of my Favorite Things: Pumpkin Edition

We all know how much I love fall, but this fall especially, I have been embracing pumpkin. Pumpkin candles, pumpkin spice lattes, even pumpkin body butter. So I thought I’d do a roundup of all my favorite pumpkin things. Let me know in the comments if you decide to check them out!

pumpkin-collage

1. Pumpkin spice latte, Starbucks
This infamous pumpkin treat marks the start of all things fall. It’s creamy, spicy, sweet, and has just enough pumpkin flavor to make you think it’s wholesome. I look forward to September all year just so I can get my PSL fix. This year I’ve only had three, which is low for me. We can thank Weight Watchers for that.

2. Pumpkin Pecan Waffles Candle, Bath and Body Works
This is THE BEST smelling fall candle ever. Please go buy yourself one and thank me later. It’s warm, spicy, and a little bit sweet, and it makes your house smell like something delicious is baking in the kitchen. So good.

3. Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal, Quaker
This oatmeal was a nice treat on a few of the colder fall mornings we’ve had here in central Illinois. It’s pretty sweet, so I made it with milk and topped it with pecans for a filling, stick-to-your-ribs breakfast.

4. Pumpkin Flax Granola, Nature’s Path Organic
I eat this granola year-round so I didn’t want to leave it out of my pumpkin foods list. It has a generous amount of pumpkin seeds and is sweet but not spicy. A great yogurt topper or breakfast choice.

5. Creative Snacks Pumpkin Spice Yogurt Pretzels
I found these when I was doing my junk food fast and they were the perfect loophole for me. Pretzel, not chip, and yogurt-covered, not chocolate-covered. They are strangely addictive and I had to be careful to limit myself. If you’re thinking of getting them be forewarned, one pretzel is equal to 1 SmartPoint.

6. Whole Wheat Mini Pumpkin Muffins, Sally’s Baking Addiction
I made these at the very beginning of September and I’m still thinking about them. They’re mini muffins, and I modified the recipe only slightly to get them down to 2 SmartPoints each. Each bite has the perfect amount of sweetness, spiciness, and best of all, chocolate. Even though they’re low in SmartPoints, they’re still tender and delicious. I can’t wait to make them again!

7. Hearty Vegetarian Pumpkin Chili, Skinnytaste
This is a wonderful, wonderful chili. I love it and I’ve made it at least three times this fall. I’ve made it for guests, for my kids—everyone loves it (well, except for CJ, who stops his love for pumpkin at roasted seeds and Jack-o-lanterns). It’s vegetarian, but the addition of Portobello mushrooms gives it a hearty, almost steak-like chewiness that makes you think you’re eating meat. Gina’s combination of spices here is perfect, with a little sweet and a little heat so it tastes just like fall in a bowl. I highly recommend this for your next chili dinner.

8. Pumpkin Body Butter, Trader Joe’s
I don’t get up to Trader Joe’s very much, but last time I was there, I bought this on a whim. People, it’s wonderful. It’s just a white, creamy body butter that has a lightly sweet pumpkin spice scent. I wear it all day and it never gets overwhelming. I love it!

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Few of my Favorite Things: Pumpkin Edition

Comments are closed.